Feature Articles
Photo by Pixabay.

Exploring life’s diversity: A look at major groups of organisms

Life on Earth is remarkably diverse, spanning a vast array of organisms that can be classified into major groups based on their distinctive characteristics. These groups, often referred to as kingdoms, encompass a wide spectrum of life forms, each with unique features and evolutionary histories.

The primary groups of organisms are prokaryotes, protoctists, fungi, plants (including non-flowering and flowering plants), and animals. Let’s delve into each group to understand their defining traits and their place in the tapestry of life.

Study Zone Spelling Stories (10 books)

Primary groups of organisms


Prokaryotes constitute one of the most ancient and diverse groups of organisms. They are single-celled entities lacking a nucleus and other membrane-bound organelles within their cells. Bacteria and archaea are the two primary domains of prokaryotic life.

Despite their simple cellular structure, prokaryotes showcase incredible adaptability, inhabiting virtually every environment on Earth, from the depths of oceans to extreme conditions like hot springs and ice caps. Their importance in nutrient cycling, ecological balance, and even human health is immeasurable.


The group of protoctists comprises a diverse range of single-celled eukaryotic organisms, including protozoans, algae, and various other microscopic life forms. These organisms exhibit complex cellular structures, often possessing membrane-bound organelles, such as nuclei and mitochondria.

Protoctists play crucial roles in various ecosystems, functioning as primary producers through photosynthesis, serving as food sources for other organisms, and contributing significantly to the planet’s oxygen production.


Fungi, a unique kingdom of life, encompass a variety of organisms such as mushrooms, molds, and yeasts. They are primarily characterised by their absorption of nutrients from organic matter in their environment.

These eukaryotic organisms differ from plants as they lack chlorophyll and cannot perform photosynthesis. Instead, they play a fundamental role in ecosystems by decomposing organic material and recycling nutrients, contributing to nutrient cycles.

For parents looking for an edge.

Your child shouldn’t miss out. LiteracyPlanet is designed to improve English literacy skills for each individual student. So this program is for your child too!

LiteracyPlanet is perfect for 5-15 years olds who are:

  • Homeschooled students, or
  • Students attending mainstream school needing extension work

Plants (non-flowering and flowering)

Plants are essential for life on Earth, providing oxygen, food, and habitat for numerous organisms. Non-flowering plants, such as ferns and mosses, reproduce through spores rather than seeds and lack flowers and fruits.

In contrast, flowering plants, or angiosperms, are the most diverse and advanced group of plants. They produce seeds within flowers and encompass a vast array of species, from towering trees to delicate wildflowers.

Both non-flowering and flowering plants are primary producers, converting sunlight into energy through photosynthesis, and they are crucial in maintaining ecological balance.


Animals represent a highly diverse group of multicellular, eukaryotic organisms that include species from microscopic invertebrates to massive mammals. They exhibit a wide range of adaptations, behaviours, and forms, enabling them to inhabit almost every environment on the planet.

From the oceans to the skies and the land, animals play various roles in ecosystems as predators, prey, and contributors to nutrient cycles, showcasing complex social structures and behaviours.

The animal kingdom is incredibly diverse and is traditionally classified into several groups or categories based on their characteristics, evolutionary relationships, and biological traits. Animals are broadly categorised into major groups known as phyla, each containing various classes, orders, families, genera, and species.

Here are some of the primary groups or phyla within the animal kingdom:



1. Porifera (sponges)

Porifera comprises the simplest multicellular animals, mostly immobile and found in aquatic environments. They lack true tissues and organs, characterised by their porous bodies that filter water to obtain food.

2. Cnidaria (jellyfish, corals, anemones)

Cnidarians are aquatic creatures that possess specialised cells called cnidocytes, which contain stinging structures used for defense and capturing prey. They have radial symmetry and a sac-like body plan.

3. Platyhelminthes (flatworms)

Flatworms are soft-bodied, unsegmented creatures that exhibit bilateral symmetry. Some are parasitic, while others are free-living, and they can be found in various habitats.

LiteracyPlanet For Schools

Schools the world over use LiteracyPlanet to improve literacy outcomes.

The reason it’s suitable for schools around the globe? Our content is some of the most comprehensive and engaging you’ll find.

  • Suitable for students from Prep to Year 10.
  • Aligned to dozens of curriculums.
  • Comprehensive coverage of all key literacy strands.
  • Highly engaging and gamified.

4. Nematoda (roundworms)

Roundworms are unsegmented worms found in diverse environments. They are often microscopic and include both free-living and parasitic species.

5. Annelida (segmented worms)

Annelids are worms with segmented bodies and include earthworms and leeches. They possess a true coelom and exhibit more complex body structures compared to flatworms and roundworms.

6. Mollusca (snails, clams, squids)

Mollusks encompass a vast array of creatures with soft bodies, often protected by a hard shell. They are characterised by a muscular foot and a mantle that secretes the shell.

7. Arthropoda (insects, arachnids, crustaceans)

Arthropods are the largest phylum in the animal kingdom and include insects, arachnids, crustaceans, and more. They have an exoskeleton, jointed legs, and segmented bodies.

8. Echinodermata (starfish, sea urchins)

Echinoderms are marine animals with radial symmetry, often displaying a spiny or prickly skin. They possess a unique water vascular system and tube feet.

9. Chordata (fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals)

Chordates, the most diverse phylum, are characterised by having a notochord at some stage in their development. They include vertebrates and invertebrates such as tunicates and lancelets. This phylum includes animals with a backbone, like fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals.

Within these phyla, there are numerous classes, orders, families, genera, and species, each with its own distinctive characteristics, habitats, and behaviours. This variety showcases the incredible diversity and complexity of the animal kingdom and its many fascinating inhabitants.


These major groups of organisms collectively form the rich tapestry of life on our planet. Their diversity and interconnectedness highlight the intricate balance that sustains life as we know it.

Each group plays a vital role in maintaining the Earth’s ecosystems and contributes uniquely to the web of life that surrounds us. Understanding and appreciating these diverse organisms are essential steps in preserving and protecting the natural world for generations to come.

When you buy something through our retail links, we may earn commission and the retailer may receive certain auditable data for accounting purposes.

About Study Zone Institute

Check Also

Groups of organisms

Major groups of organisms in over 8 million types

By Darius Soyer. There are said to be over 8 million different types of living …

Living things

7 Characteristics of living things

By Darius Soyer. Biology is the study of living organisms and the things they do …

Discover more from Study Zone Institute

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading